How it all began…

Back when I was 19, I spent a great deal of time trying to decide what exactly it was that I wanted to do for the REST of my life. I don’t know that I have ever felt more confused than I did during that period. At first, I thought I wanted to go into the medical field. But as I looked more into it, I realized that the hours were long, people get bitter fast, and most importantly… I would ALWAYS have a boss! I would have to ask for time off and most likely work most holidays. So I quickly gave up that thought. Then I decided that I  wanted to work with people, and maybe going into Psychology would be the way to go since I loved it so much.  I realized it would take many, many years of schooling to complete this dream but I decided that was the direction I was going to go. Not filling completely satisfied but definitely on the right track! My mom then came to me and exclaimed, “Tarrah, I got it!” She proceeded to tell me that she had a dream and realized I was supposed to be a Massage Therapist. My response? “Mom, that’s too easy”. Ha! I look back at my response now and think how ridiculous of a statement that was. Anyway, after talking about it awhile she proposed that I do both; Psychology and Massage Therapy. So that is exactly what I did. I looked into some schools with a new found enthusiasm and luckily my brother did as well. He was living in Arizona and said there were some really great schools. So in a blink of an eye, I was on a plane headed to AZ to check out some schools. Needless to say, I fell in love!  Within 3 months, I packed my bags and headed to good ol’ Arizona to begin Massage Therapy at Phoenix Therapeutic Massage College and Arizona State University to pursue a degree in Psychology. And the rest…is history. Well… for now!

~ by bellamelatherapy on January 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
